Heritage Guide to The Geelong College

Search the Guide

To find information in this Guide please select one of the green coloured options.

To Select a Page Group when displayed, right click and select 'Open'.

Copyright Conditions Apply.



Housing the Dining Hall at its northern end, the Refectory Building on the south-eastern boundary with Talbot St and adjoining All Saints Church, was originally designed to provide dining facilities for the boarders and teaching staff, kitchen and food preparation areas, storage areas, a laundry, infirmary and living quarters upstairs for the matron and domestic staff.

The Foundation Stone laid by Mr S B Hamilton-Calvert, Chairman of the College Council, includes a cylinder containing papers about the building of the Refectory. The Dining Hall and Refectory Block were opened by the Governor General, Lord Stonehaven on Old Boys’ Day 21 March 1930. With the exception of the kitchen and servery areas, both the internal and external features of the building are in largely original condition. The building was designed by Hudson and Wardrop and was built by R A Dixon & Son with a winning bid of £14,183 accepted by Council in January, 1929. Pegasus noted in December 1929 that ‘a close survey of the (roof) beams and rafters might disclose a name written in chalk, or some initials cut deep into the wood – attempts, apparently to secure an enduring memorial.’
© The Geelong College. Unless otherwise attributed, The Geelong College asserts its creative and commercial rights over all images and text used in this publication. No images or text material may be copied, reproduced or published without the written authorisation of The College.